MAID IN MANHATTAN

           It was midnight. It was Friday midnight when I decided to watch Maid in Manhattan. It was the most unwitting decision I made, considering that 5 hours ago, an engaging online friend handed me DVD copies of In the Mood for Love, Run, Lola, Run, Igby Goes Down, Adaptation and Magnolia. What prompted me to watch a love story that my mom rented (this is a very vital information) instead? We have no DVD player.

           After watching, I frantically reached out for my Twisted Flicks copy and looked up if there’s a review for Maid in Manhattan. Zilch. Damn! I have to do it on my own.

           This political movie argues that socio-economic and racial discrimination should be totally eradicated in today’s living. Allowing such to exist in the society would only lead to unending suffering for all walks of life. This is highly emphasized when Amon Goeth, the pitiless trigger happy way back during the Holocaust reincarnated in the person of Chris Marshall (Ralph Fiennes) and fell smitten to a non-Jewish but very Latin Marissa Ventura (Jennifer Lopez) whose over-all appearance tells me that Selena has risen from the grave. Since he has power in his past life, Marshall still manifests inclination for the throne as he runs for senator. On the other hand, Marissa, whose nationality hinders her way to success, turns this into a challenge to reach what she’s aiming for. And of course, like most determined people, she is surrounded by a blonde bimbo who’d do anything to put her down, a parent whose hobbies include discouraging his/her crestfallen angel, a colleague who would offer more than a sympathetic pair of shoulders, and gossip-hungry media practitioners.

           The only unpredictable thing that occurred all throughout the movie was the mentioning of the word “Bronx” and the compliment directed towards the lead actress’s behind. The rest is a welcoming change. I should start giving romantic films like The American President a second chance.

