27.02.12, Mushy Monday; 12:55

New residence: Project 4, Quezon City. New workplace: Eastwood. Old news: In love and kicking.

Dear Niwee,

During our orientation, the facilitator told us new hires that IBM also stands for “I’ve Been Moved”. If change were constant, then changes are frequent and normal in the company. Any IBMer should be accepting to these movements in the workplace – the faster, the better.

In June 2010, I started training for handling North American and, subsequently, International deals. I got “drafted” for the team that manages the latter, but during quarter-ends, I also got my own share of domestic (North American) deals. Wearing double hats was hardly a breeze, especially for someone who necessitates repetition (with minimal amount of pressure) for learning. In April 2011, our team gained the management’s nod to be dedicated to International deals, much to my relief. In September of the same year, I was chosen to be transferred to one of the domestic teams. That way, I will be exposed solely to North American processes as Team International envisions to expand and take ownership of the domestic side of International deals. This should be temporary as I should take my learnings with me when I go back to the old team. My return was on February 2012. Supposedly.

Thanks to an opening for another service line for a different region, I found myself embracing my second movement within the span of 6 months. Since February 13th, I’ve been on training for A/NZ deal handling (and started sporting the kind of glow that only night sleep could offer).

I could still recall how I took the news. There were bittersweet tears streaming down my cheeks. See, I’m no disgruntled employee. All I wanted was to treat myself better and get decent repose at night. I was super grateful for this new opportunity for personal growth and close proximity with Waldo. Yet, my heart was bleeding for the amount of workload I would leave my great mentors cum friends with. Also, my lateral movement would delay my supposedly new team manager’s plans for expansion. Needless to say, I would miss their company and the highs of the estrogen-charged environment in my old team. [Not that I won’t miss the obnoxious boys of Team International.]

Before I go really sappy and teary-eyed all over again, I shall leave you with photos documenting my last 3 days in the Makati office. On my last Wednesday, the team agreed to show up in dresses (boys exempted, of course) to pay tribute to my usual get-up. On my last Thursday, we were in purple. Sadly enough, we were all too occupied to do a quick pictorial. On my last day, everybody refused to bring hippie headbands as I’ve instructed. But they redeemed the day with something that this bratinella can not complain about. My last meeting with them was documented on video, but let’s NOT go there anymore. 

Team tribute to...me! Who else loves to don dresses and skirts?

Team tribute to...me! Who else loves to don dresses and skirts?

Team Fem's farewell gift. How sweet! Literally!

Team's farewell gift. How sweet! Literally!

Message In An Eco-Bag!

Message In An Eco-Bag!

The deep-fried and sinfully sugar-loaded treat!

The deep-fried and sinfully sugar-loaded treat!

