Traveling Dahl

Where’s Waldo during the first two weeks in December? He finally took that long overdue return flight to his hometown in Southern Leyte to attend the fiesta and spend more time with his family and longtime friends. Come hell or Typhoon Bopha (locally known as Typhoon Pablo), nothing else can stop him from this homecoming. It’s been ten years since he left, you know.

Being a typical Pinoy that I am, I was quick to “suggest” what I’d like to get as pasalubong from his trip. My father hailed from Southern Leyte, too, and I remember enjoying their homegrown bananas with seeds that resemble black pepper. They were sweeter and the seeds made me take it slow and revel at every bite.  I have fond memories of their langka (jackfruit) and how it can transform my monster mum into a mute muse. (According to Waldo, jackfruits are not allowed in air…

View original post 105 more words

